About Us

Leadership for Suicide Prevention in Idaho

SPAN Idaho’s mission is to eradicate suicide in Idaho through statewide advocacy, collaboration, and education in best practices.  SPAN has created statewide regional chapters to carry out prevention efforts at the local level, and regularly conduct training conferences with nationally recognized speakers.

Idaho has consistently been among the top ten states with the highest suicide rates in the nation. Suicide is a complex and difficult problem and solutions developed in other parts of the country may not address Idaho's needs. We continue working with the citizens and communities across the state to develop and implement strategies to reduce suicide and suicidal behavior.

A Brief History Of SPAN Idaho

In 2002, a small group of professionals working with the Adolescent Suicide Task Force and Idaho Suicide Prevention Services, who wished to establish a formal organization, decided to affiliate with the National Suicide Prevention Action Network (SPAN USA). An official board was formed, by-laws and articles of incorporation written and SPAN Idaho was born. In 2003, SPAN Idaho established partnerships and assisted in developing funding options for the development of the first Idaho Suicide Prevention Plan with a governor-appointed council.  SPAN Idaho assisted in updating the Plan in 2011.

Click Here for a complete list of recent SPAN Idaho accomplishments.


SPAN Idaho Board of Directors

Monte Woolstenhulme, President
School District Superintendent

Mary Pierce, Vice-President
Suicide Prevention Coordinator, Veterans Affairs 

Ariel Jenkinson- Treasurer
CPA with St. Lukes Hospital

Lynn Opdycke – Secretary
Twin Falls
Clinical Director/Owner

Sarah Woodley
President, CEO of BPA Health

Monica Bitrick
Idaho Falls
YMCA Executive Director, Idaho Falls

Brandi Daw
Idaho Falls
Outreach Coordinator, EIRMC-Behavorial  Health

Brittany Hargis
Idaho Falls
Marketing & Web design, Social media

Melisa Blackwell  
Prevention Analyst, Idaho Army National Guard

SPAN Idaho Staff

Jeni Griffin - Executive Director
Idaho Falls